Board Committees

  • Legislative Committee
    Khem Irby, Chair

    Crissy Pratt
    Alan Sherouse

    Staff Liaison: Jose Oliva, Chief of Staff


    Facilities Naming Committee

    Deborah Napper, Chair

    Khem Irby
    Michael Logan
    Linda Welborn

    Staff Liaison: Marshall Matson, Assistant Superintendent of Schools


    Facilities Naming Recommendation Form

  • Policy Committee
    T. Dianne Bellamy Small, Chair

    Bettye T. Jenkins
    Deborah Napper

    Staff Liaison: Dr. Whitney Oakley, Superintendent



    Historically Underutilized Businesses (HUB) Committee
    Deena Hayes, Chair

    Bettye T. Jenkins
    Crissy Pratt

    Staff Liaison: Dr. Julius Monk, Deputy Superintendent of Business & Operations



    Joint Capital/Facilities Planning Committee*
    Deena Hayes, Co-Chair
    Khem Irby
    Bettye T. Jenkins
    Alan Sherouse

    Staff Liaison: Dr. Whitney Oakley, Superintendent

    *This committee is not a Board of Education Committee, but rather a joint Guilford County Board of Education/Guilford County Board of Commissioners committee appointed by the chairperson of the Guilford County Board of Education and the chairperson of the Guilford County Board of County Commissioners.


    • Career and Technical Education: Michael Logan
    • City of Greensboro Downtown Greenway: T. Dianne Bellamy Small
    • Communities in Schools of Greater Greensboro: Bettye T. Jenkins
    • Communities in Schools of High Point: T. Dianne Bellamy Small
    • Council of the Great City Schools: Bettye T. Jenkins
    • Guilford County Council of PTAs: Khem Irby
    • Guilford Education Alliance: Deena Hayes
    • Guilford Technical Community College Board of Trustees/BOE liaisons/appointees: William J. Levette, term expires June 30, 2024; David S. Miller, term expires June 30, 2025; José Bernal, term expires June 30, 2026; Bettye Young-Stewart, term expires June 30, 2027.
    • National School Boards Association (NSBA) Federal Relations Network (FRN): Khem Irby
    • North Carolina School Board Association: T. Dianne Bellamy Small
    • Ready for School/Ready for Life: Bettye T. Jenkins
    • School Health Advisory Council: Deborah Napper
    • shift_ed Board of Directors: Deena Hayes