Return to Headlines

Larry Sanders Excellence in Teaching Award

Larry Saunders Excellence in Teaching Award

The PTSA is currently accepting nominations for the Larry Saunders Excellence in Teaching Award. Larry Saunders was a math teacher at Grimsley 1968-1996 and his dedication and excellence in teaching were an inspiration to Grimsley students and faculty for many years.

Any student or parent can nominate a teacher by writing a letter of nomination outlining why this teacher should receive the award.

Criteria include:

  • classroom teacher having taught a minimum of 5 years at GHS
  • demands rigor and the highest possible level of academic achievement from all students
  • demonstrates a keen knowledge of their subject matter
  • is readily available to students
  • demonstrates professionalism and a devotion to teaching

Nominations may be anonymous and should be submitted to Awards Chair, Laura Wallace,, by May 15. A PTSA committee will review all submissions and select the winner. The award will be presented at the Senior Awards Day on May 28th, 2019.

Questions? Please contact Laura Wallace ( or 336-215-4842)




Previous Recipients:



Larry Williamson

Kemp Dalton

Temple Eller

Marshall Johnson

Stefan Stuber

Teresa Whiting

Michael Courts

Jane Miller

Roberta Rohan

    Michael Albert